The controversial cure

That’s right, I went there.

The cure. The one thing that has the power to sever the close bond between members of the disability community. It doesn’t matter if it’s autism, Down syndrome, ADHD, Tourette’s, or a genetic disorder- everyone has an opinion on whether a cure should be available.

For those of you unfamiliar with the controversy, I will attempt to explain.

I have never met a person with a disability and thought, “poor them, their life must suck and have no purpose whatsoever.”Because it’s just not true! Having a disability is not the end of the world, and everyone has strengths and weaknesses, disability or not.

Many people take pride in their disability, as it is what makes them unique, and is a part of who they are. It does not define who they are, but it is certainly a part of them. When people start talking about a cure, it begs the questions “if my disability is taken away, will it change who I am at the core?”

Tourette’s has given me a keen sense of other peoples sensitivities and needs. I am able to advocate for others with special needs because I know what it’s like. If I didn’t have Tourette’s, I am pretty confident I wouldn’t have that ability. And the ability to be empathetic and understanding is one of the things I like best about myself.

At the same time, Tourette’s sucks. It hurts. It’s frustrating when I’m trying to do something but I can’t stop ticcing.

Is the ability to empathize and be a good advocate worth the pain of TS? For me the answer is yes. I wouldn’t cure my TS if I had the opportunity.

However, I understand where others are coming from. Although I wouldn’t cure myself, I wouldn’t be against other people doing it for themselves. It is a highly personal decision and I recognize it isn’t my place to tell anyone that a cure is or isn’t right for them.

So, when it comes down to it, I wouldn’t cure my TS.

…But my OCD is a COMPLETELY different story 🙂

Leave a Reply

