Tourette’s camp

Ahhh, Tourette’s camp. The greatest invention in the history of the world. Whoever invented it definitely deserves a Nobel prize, or at the very least some sort of medal from oriental trading magazine.

I have been to a camp for kids with Tourette’s and had a blast. Even as a person with Tourette’s, it was an eye opening experience. They often say “if you’ve met one kid with autism, you’ve met one kid with autism.” The same thing goes for Tourette’s! It was so interesting to see all of the different tics. Everyone would compare tics, and it was really cool to see that they weren’t seen as embarrassing, but as some sort of street cred. The camp favorite was the girl who’d scream “ITALIAN PASTA SALAD” at the top of her lungs. (Plot twist- it was me.)

I picked up several new tics at TS camp, and I wasn’t even mad! I personally think if every person on this earth spent one day at Tourette’s camp, we’d have a much more awesome, accepting world.

Anyways, I’m off to a different TS camp this summer and am counting down the days. I can’t wait to be with “my people!”

Leave a Reply

