Going away

I always knew I’d go to college. Why not? I’d always gotten good grades. However, as my senior year of high school approached I began to realize that grades were just a tiny part of going away to college. I couldn’t cook. I didn’t drive or do laundry. I had a lot of anxiety. I was fully dependent financially and emotionally on my parents.

So despite getting into all of my colleges, I chose to go to community college. Not because of my grades, but because I just wasn’t ready to leave home.

That was four years ago, and I am about to enter my second year away at a 4 year school. And trust me- after 2 years at community college- I was MORE than ready to leave home. Now that it’s summer, I just have to learn how to live with my parents again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

