How to make the best of the worst

While reading a TS forum, a parent shared that some bullies in her child’s school made a rap about her child’s tics. This brought back memories of middle school, where some bullies did the EXACT same thing to me. (See “the bully that everyone loved.”)

What it also brought back memories of was what I did to combat it. Their bullying was tearing me apart, but I wasn’t about to let them know that.

They would sing the rap between classes. It was a small school in the shape of a circle, and they made everyone walk the same way. (Dumb, I know.)

They would catch up with me around the third big turn (it wasn’t an exact circle) and start rapping as they came around the circle. I couldn’t avoid them because we all had to walk the same way (again, dumb.) I’d walk faster. I’d leave later. None of it worked.

….Well, if ya can’t beat em, join em!

No, don’t worry. I didn’t bully them back. Instead, I’d wait at the turn and as the walked around the corner, start beat boxing. That way, they could rap along with me, right?!

Wrong. Rapping was no longer cool. So they moved onto the next victim, and it was a whole 3 weeks before they bothered me again!

It’s the small victories in life …

Leave a Reply

