Minding my own business? Is it my business?

The other day one of my good friends posed a question- when you see someone in public who you think has Tourette’s- do you say something?

The first answer that comes to my mind is “are you crazy? Of course not! That’s none of my business!”

But I really want to ask. I really want to know that there’s somebody who understands.

So that poses the question- how do you ask?

“Hi sir, do you have Tourette’s?”

…nah

How about “Excuse me, you don’t know me but I KNOW YOU!”

….nope

Or this “at what age did you find out you have Tourette’s? Oh, 23? How old are you now? …..oh. 23.”

There’s just no good way to ask. And by this point, I have spent 20 minutes contemplating how to ask, and the person is gone. And I have realized how my desire to find someone who understands does not warrant inserting myself into someone else’s business….right?

But I still really want to ask 😦

3 thoughts on “Minding my own business? Is it my business?”

  1. I feel the same way when I see parents whose children very clearly seem to be on the autism spectrum…part of me wants to scream “my kid too!! We’ve got wonderfully awesome quirky kids together!” Buuuuut…not only am I super socially awkward myself, with my luck whoever I tried to broach the subject with would most likely NOT have a kid on the spectrum, or not have one that had been diagnosed yet, or simply be totally insulted by m comment. lol so I bite my tongue.

  2. Maybe don’t ask if they have tourettes but instead just walk up and say hey you don’t know me but… then introduce yourself and just be a friend. Tourettes may come up in conversation or may not, but there’s a good chance you’ve made someone’s day.

Leave a Reply

