That darn word

First, let me introduce the purpose of this post:

I HATE the “r word.”

Now, to elaborate:

For those who don’t know, the r word refers to the word ” retarded.” I don’t understand why anyone would use it. It’s degrading, and unnecessary. It’s no longer the medical terminology, thanks to Rosa’s law in 2010, and if there’s any possibility of it hurting someone, why would you use it?

It’s really that simple. But I hear it all the time-and I’m a college student!

Let me tell you a little bit about myself- I’m a wimp. I avoid confrontation at ALL costs. I’d literally be the worst salesman in the world . Don’t get me wrong, I’m passionate and always speak my mind, but if someone disagrees with me, I’ll say “oh, yes, I totally agree.” Or “I could totally be wrong. Yep, you know what, I’m wrong.”

I can’t stick to my guns, because I don’t like arguments and I don’t like seeing people unhappy.

Which brings us to the original purpose of this post: the r word.

I hear it. And I cringe. And I open my mouth to say something…..

….and I shut it. I can’t do it. Despite how passionately I hate the r word and want to advocate the ‘@$& out of anyone who says it, I can’t. And it hurts that I can’t, because I know how much the word hurts, and it is my job to make people aware of it.

I tried it once. I heard an acquaintance say it like 4 times and when I called him out on it, he said “I didn’t say it.”

…”oh. Ok. My bad. Sorry.” The most awkward 30 seconds ensued and I CONVINCED myself that I was stupid and wrong when in reality, he had said the word- 4 TIMES!

Does anyone have any advice on how I can- to put it colloquially- “grow a pair?”

Leave a Reply

