Acts of kindness

I haven’t really had many friends in the past, but now that I am in college I’ve found that people are much more mature than before, and take the time to actually get to know me before they judge me.

WHAT?!

For the first time in my life, I feel popular. The other day in class, 2 people wanted to be my partner. Heck, I don’t think anyone has EVER asked me to be their partner. It was always me asking , and the answer was always “no.”

I’m still getting used to the fact that people want to be my friend without anything in return, and that when I ask if someone wants to hang out, I’m not burdening them.

The point was really driven home the other day at an APO meeting (the service fraternity I’m in.) The president of the club announced that they were considering partnering with the ASL club to learn sign language, because when I had a seizure I was trying to sign something and nobody understood. When she asked who was interested, every hand shot up.

I was so touched by their gesture that I didn’t have the heart to tell them that I don’t know sign language!

2 thoughts on “Acts of kindness”

    1. I thought it was funny too! But I felt bad keeping it a secret and ended up telling them. I can finger spell, so apparently that’s what I was doing. So hopefully the ASL club event will still happen!

Leave a Reply

